Sometimes life shows you something that you know to be true but you have no reasonable explanation for it.  These situations happen more often than I think many of us realize.  It’s easy to ignore them because they don’t fit in with our perception of how things should work. It doesn’t mean strange things don’t happen; we just aren’t always able to see them for what they are.  A friend of mine’s husband had one such experience, and it left him wondering what had just happened?  Here’s his story.


Washington D.C. – July 2016

I will be the first to admit, I do not know my way around the D.C. Metro.  My wife is the experienced elite diamond ambassador rewards member, and I usually only travel as far as our local airport. However, I recently tagged along on one of her business trips, and we spent a couple of days sightseeing in Washington D.C. She stayed in the city a few days longer to attend a conference, so it was up to me to navigate my way solo via public transport to Reagan airport for the journey home.

My first task was to buy a TAP card, which has all the sense of trying to negotiate mineral rights with the local tribe of indigenous pandas.  Then I make it into the station and figure out that the “blue” line will eventually pass by my destination.  Not sure if it will actually stop there, but what the heck….I’m fluffy; I can bounce a few times on impact.

After a few minutes a train arrives, and it appears to be either blue or green line – I’m colorblind – but this spot is for silver, orange, and blue only so they have idiot-proofed it for me.  The car is empty so I sit down in an empty row in the back because it is like “all the stops” until mine.

At the first stop (Arlington Cemetery) a family boards and sits down several rows away from me. They clearly know where they are going, as they don’t even pause to check the color coded snake chart that passes for the map.  It’s a middle aged couple – probably mid-40s, one young girl of about 9 or 10, and an older woman, maybe the grandmother.

Mom and dad sit together and girl is sitting across the aisle with grandma.  The girl appears to be crying.

Now seems a good time to point out that because it is bright outside, and because it minimizes how lost I appear, I am wearing dark sunglasses and facing out the window. An added perk is that it isn’t apparent if I am looking at anyone on the train.

 The young girl continued to cry, but not the loud and shrill, “Why did you drag me around the tourist attractions in the heat?” kind of way, but more like a quiet sobbing. She just seemed very…sad, leaning against her grandmother, as the older woman attempted to comfort her granddaughter.  I will admit that with my eyes shrouded behind my sunglasses, I looked a little longer than I might have otherwise at the sad child.

Eventually the girl leaned forward to her mother sitting in the seat in front of her and whispered something. The two had a brief conversation before mom turned and said something to dad and they spoke for a moment.

By this time, I had turned to look out the window and was trying to count how many more stops were left until the train reached the airport.

“Sir?”

I looked up to see that the mom had come over to my end of the train car and was standing beside me.

“Yes?”

“Forgive me, but my English is poor, my daughter…” She gestured back to the young girl who seemed to be calming more by the moment “…she was worried, said she heard you and you were sad for her. She does not know English so she asked me to say to you.”

Of course I am confused; I’ve been very careful not to visibly turn to this group, nor have I changed expression or spoken.  My head tilted slightly and my expression now certainly showed confusion as the woman continued speaking.

“We went to the cemetery see, and she feels everything very strong, so she sad and she is cry. But is okay, she wanted to tell you she is okay”

Trying to hide confusion with a polite smile, I turned and looked toward the young girl and gave her a smile and nod.  Mother returns to her family and one stop later they begin to gather their stuff and leave. The little girl says something to mother that I catch only the first part of…it sounded like “tanan vaga chr-“

Mom looks back at me with a small smile and says
“Thank you Chris”

I pull out my phone the second they are out the door and quickly Googled the phrase before the next tunnel.
Tänan väga = “Thank you very much” in Estonian. 

They had not asked, nor had I ever said, my name.


I know that different people have different gifts.  It seems that this young lady has one.  Some people would freak out on this but Chris had the presence of mind to write his experience down, maybe not even knowing why and not thinking that I would use it in the blog.

I have not personally experienced something like this, but I believe that there is more to life that we understand. It is sometimes necessary to take these things on faith when you hear about it happening to someone else. If it happens to us, we have to just accept that that something did happen – something that defies rational explanation.

If you are not sure about experiences like this I would recommend a book called “Extraordinary Knowing” by  Elizabeth Lloyd Mayer, Ph.D.

She spent about 15 years trying to explain and examine things like this.  It will give anyone food for thought.

I have talked a little about karma (although I prefer the term “spiritual gravity”) and miracles and I know that they are real. Some people will have doubts – that is understandable because it is something that you have to prove to yourself for it to be real to you.

The universe wants to help us even if we don’t see it.

